

Microbiology Departmental Graduate Student Scholarship Award

Presented annually to a meritorious graduate student in an Interdepartmental Graduate Program working in a laboratory in the Department of Microbiology and Plant Pathology

The Microbiology and Plant Pathology (MPP) Department is, by nature, interdisciplinary in its research pursuits. This award was established by the MPP department to highlight this diversity and to recognize excellence in student research as a major contributor to the interdisciplinary strengths of the department.

The Microbiology Scholarship will be awarded annually to one meritorious graduate student in the laboratory of a Department of Microbiology and Plant Pathology (MPP) faculty member at the University of California, Riverside. A faculty committee will identify an applicant that has demonstrated excellence in research and creative forward-thinking in their dissertation research. The prize consists of a cash award of \$1,000, an engraved plaque and a certificate signed by the Department Chair. The award will be presented following the annual Microbiology and Plant Pathology Student-Invited Lectureship.

Eligibility

All graduate students currently enrolled and in good standing in an <u>interdepartmental</u> Ph.D. program and with their Major Professor in the MPP Department. *The student can be a member of any interdepartmental graduate program as long as their Major Professor is a faculty member belonging to the MPP Department*. The student's research focus can be broad and focus on some aspect of Microbiology. Students may only receive this award once and are only eligible for one MPP departmental award per year.

Application Process

To apply, please submit the following in <u>a single pdf</u> by November 22nd, 2019:

- 1. A cover page including the title of the dissertation project, the name of the student applying for the award, and co-signatures of the student and the major professor.
- 2. A research statement that describes the student's dissertation project (3-page limit).
- 3. List of publications, presentations and awards.

Submit the single pdf application electronically to Jim Adaskaveg (jim.adaskaveg@ucr.edu), Chair of the Student Honors and Awards Committee, with a copy to Maggie Flores (margarita.flores@ucr.edu).